Posted by: literallydelicious | June 17, 2010

Hamburgers on the Grill

I have a friend who loves to cook out year-round. Her grill is huge and complex and cost a nice chunk, but she loves it.

I, on the other hand, am not a fan of grilling. My grill is tiny, the handle to lift the lid is broken, and emptying the ash can is a pain. But it’s fine for the few jobs it handles: grilling steaks and burgers and the occasional portobello.

Gas is obviously more convenient, but I don’t really see the point to grilling if you’re not using charcoal. It smells better and tastes way better. And with a chimney, starting the coals can be fairly quick. So pour yourself a glass of wine (or ice-cold pop), light the coals and enjoy the grilling.

*********

HAMBURGERS

1 slice sandwich bread

1 tablespoon milk

1 pound ground chuck or sirloin

1 pound 85% ground beef

1 tablespoon A1 steak sauce

salt and pepper to taste

1. Place bread in a medium bowl; pour milk over and mask with a fork until the bread breaks down into a paste.

2. Crumble ground beef over the bread; add steak sauce and season. Mix well.

3. Shape into patties; chill until ready to grill.


Responses

  1. To be honest, I can’t tell the difference between charcoal and gas. The fat dripping on the hot rocks smokes and gives the meat that wonderful flavor.
    I’d much rather grill than make a mess in the kitchen. But then, I also have to clean up.
    Guess what we’re having for Father’s Day.
    Joseph’s! I can’t wait!!!

    • It depends on the food for me, whether I can taste the difference between grill and gas. It’s easier to tell on meat, chicken and fish, I think. If I grilled a lot, I’d probably go gas, too, just because the charcoal isn’t cheap . . . but then I always forgot to refill the tank when we had gas.

      I’m with you on the mess. A few weeks ago I pan-seared steaks for a salad and thought I’d have to get the sander or air chisel out to clean the skillet!

  2. I love charcoaled food, but preferd someone else do the cooking. I’ll bring the sides.

    • Okay, Jackie! Don & I smoked a bunch of meat and I hate making sides!
      🙂

    • I’d rather someone grill burgers, even though I do it all the time. If I had to cook for finicky eaters, it would definitely be someone else’s job. But I like mine well done and Bob likes his rare, so I can handle that.

      Oh, Meg, sides are easy: cole slaw from KFC, potato salad from MacAllister’s, corn on the cob from the freezer . . . 😉

  3. About forgetting to refill the tanks of propane. . .
    That’s the reason I have two or three tanks. (Or four. I’m not sure how many it is now.) I’ve thought about getting a big propane tank so I don’t have to haul them in so often. Wish it were wired to the gas so I didn’t have to fill tanks.

    • We had two tanks, and it seemed they were always empty whenever I wanted to grill steak. Wouldn’t a tank be nice? (Meg could give you advice on how to paint it. I loved her watermelon and race car tank!)


Leave a comment

Categories