Posted by: literallydelicious | June 15, 2010

Vanilla Ice Cream and Strawberries

Last week we visited Conrad’s Farm in Bixby to stock up on fresh veggies. The green beans were to die for; the early tomatoes were decent; the red potatoes sweet and thin-skinned and tender.

I also bought a flat of strawberries. Eight quarts. For two of us. Good thing we love ’em, huh?

But you can only eat so many plain strawberries, right? And the best thing to add to them is ice cream, right? I used to be a huge lover of ice cream — and I mean that literally. Having lost over 130 pounds since then, I don’t eat much ice cream; along with the weight, I pretty much lost my taste for it.

But I was in WalMart, with eight quarts of fresh strawberries in my truck, and I saw an ice cream maker on clearance, so I bought it. Home-made ice cream . . . man, does that bring back memories. Rock salt, ice, cranking until our arms were about to fall off . . .

The new machine is electric — much easier, not so nostalgic. But the ice cream, with sweet perfectly-ripe strawberries — yumm!

**********

VANILLA ICE CREAM

2 cups whole milk

3/4 cup sugar

dash of salt

1 cup whipping cream

1 teaspoon vanilla

1. Stir together milk, sugar and salt until sugar is dissolved. Add whipping cream and vanilla; stir until combined.

2. Freeze according to ice cream maker instructions. Harden in freezer for 30-45 minutes before serving.

Responses

  1. Yum!!!
    Now I want real ice cream!

    • If you were, I’d make you some! There’s not much better for summer, is there?

  2. My mom had a great recipe for ice cream. It had eggs, whole milk, Eagle brand milk, half and half, heavy cream and a ton of sugar.
    Grandma Reeves: “Alway put more sugar than you think you’ll need, because sugar freezes out.”
    Oh. And *good* vanilla.
    That’s good eating!!!
    Now you’ve made me hungry. Thanks for bringing up fantastic memories.

    • Okay, you had me at Eagle Brand. 🙂

      I have a similar recipe, but I haven’t tried it. I thought I’d try to keep the fat down just a tad. But your mom’s sounds wonderful!

  3. I remember an ice cream social we had at my church when I was in high school. We had about 20 hand-cranked freezers and tons of flavors. The absolutely bestd was a peach ice cream with fresh peaches. Just the memory of it makes my mouth water.

    • Oh, yumm! I saw a sign for Porter peaches today, and my first thought was peach ice cream! There are quite a few peaches on our trees, but they’re fairly small. If they make it to maturity (the wasps and hornets love them), it won’t be until the middle of July or later. We don’t often get them, but when we do, they are incredible.

      • Yes, they are!


Leave a Reply

Categories

