Posted by: literallydelicious | December 8, 2011

Truffles

My friend Margaret at http://fantasycrapshoot.blogspot.com is a master candy maker. I’m not. I love the good stuff like she makes, but fudge is more my speed. So you know upfront, any candy recipe you see on this site is easy.

I’m also not great at presentation. I may start out making perfect little round shapes or whatever, but by the time I get near the end, everything’s bigger and wonkier. These truffles are no exception. Note before I make them again: buy a candy scooper thing to control the portions.

While I love the beautiful stuff like Mags does, for my kitchen, taste is enough.

*********

Truffles

1/2 cup heavy cream

12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

6 tablespoons unslated butter cut into small pieces

2 teaspoons vanilla extra

for optional coatings: chopped pecans, cocoa powder, toasted coconut

1. In a double boiler bring cream to a simmer. Remove from heat; add chocolate, butter and vanilla and stir until completely melted.

2. Pour mixture into a shallow bowl. Cool, cover and refrigerate for at least two hours.

3. Line a pan with waxed or parchment paper. Form truffle mixture into small balls. Roll or dip in coating, then place on pan. Cover and refrigerate.

Responses

  1. Wow…no wonder they are awesome.

  2. Did I mention that I’m trying to cut back on calories? Sigh . . . no wonder it’s no working.

  3. Sounds simple enough even for me!

  4. Trust me, very simple. It’s very sticky when you form the balls, so if you have one of those little cookie scoops (like an ice cream scoop only much smaller), you won’t have to handle it so much. Even with your hands, it’s still worth making.


Leave a Reply

Categories

