Posted by: literallydelicious | May 24, 2011

Green Beans and New Potatoes

This is one of my favorite dishes. I make it the way my mom and grandmothers did — with lots of flavor. It’s amazing how you can take something totally healthy like fresh green beans and turn them into a calorie-dump like this dish. But I figure since I only make it two or three times a year, I can afford the splurge.

I got the beans and potatoes from a farm market in Bixby, then sent my husband to the grocery store to get a ham shank. I used to use ham hocks, but the butcher at Reasor’s suggested shanks a while back. It’s meatier and much more flavorful.

So Bob goes to the butcher case and asks where to find the ham shanks. The guy takes him to the refrigerated section where the hams are and pulls out a huge ham. “That’s a ham,” Bob says.

“It’s a shank of ham.”

“No,” Bob says. “What I want is littler. It looks kind of like a ham hock, but it’s better.”

“Ohhhh,” the man replies. “You want a ham shank.”

Uh . . . duh?

**********

GREEN BEANS AND NEW POTATOES

fresh green beans, rinsed and ends snipped off

small red potatoes, the littlest ones they have (If they’re bigger than a golf ball, cut them in halves or quarters)

2-3 slices bacon, separated and cut into 1″ pieces

1 ham shank (depending on size, you might ask the butcher to cut it in half for you)

salt and pepper to taste (be careful with the salt since both the bacon and ham are salty)

1. Put everything in a large pot; cover with water. Bring to a boil, then simmer until everything’s tender. Enjoy!

Responses

  1. I love green beans and new potatoes. (I’d make the Homer yummy sound if I knew how to spell it.) LOL. The long you cook those beans, the better. And they’re even better with sweet onion.
    Yuuuuuuuuum!

    • I always want to mark the day on the calendar when we have our first green beans and new potatoes of the year. They were sooo good — even better the second day. I love them, too!

      Do you cook the sweet onion with them, or serve it raw alongside, the way we do with pinto beans?

  2. PS: Did Bob say, “The duh is implied”? Tell him I feel his pain.

    • LOL!!!

  3. Maybe Bob’s accent cobfused him. 

    • From Bob’s retelling, I think EVERYTHING confused him. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

