Posted by: literallydelicious | March 10, 2011

Potato Salad

This was a dish my mom made about a million times. It’s creamy and sweet and a bit crunchy, and the only lumps in it are what’s supposed to be lumpy. The first time I went to a potluck where someone brought chunky potato salad, I was appalled. I still am when I see it in a restaurant. The dish has the potential to be so great; why not take that extra step of mashing the lumps out so it can live up to its potential???

My friend, Susan, commented once that our favorite versions of dishes usually reflect how we had it when we were kids. I’ve changed a few recipes from how Mom did them, but potato salad and pot roast are two that . . . well, you can’t improve on perfection.

**********

POTATO SALAD

2-3 large potatoes (I like russets or Yukon golds)

salt and pepper

2 eggs, hard-boiled, peeled and diced (plus another for garnish if you want)

1 small onion, diced fine

sweet pickle relish to taste

mustard, Miracle Whip and sauce

paprika

1. Wash potatoes; peel or not, whatever your preference. Cut into a large dice, place in a colander and rinse to remove the starches released when a potato is cut.

2. Place potatoes in a saucepan filled with cold water. Salt and pepper; bring to a boil, then lower heat to medium. Finish cooking until tender; drain and place in a large bowl.

3. After potatoes cook a bit, stir in diced onion, sweet pickle relish and chopped eggs.

4. In a small bowl, mix mustard, Miracle Whip and sugar. I’ve never measured this, so I’m going to guess about 2 tablespoons mustard to 1/2 – 3/4 cup of Miracle Whip, with maybe a tablespoon of sugar. Play with the amounts until you get the right level of sweetness and tang.

5. Stir dressing into potato mix. Garnish with a sprinkling of paprika and a boiled egg sliced in thin wedges, if desired. 

Responses

  1. Except for the sugar, that’s my mom’s potato salad exactly.
    I like it a lot, but found another one from The Barefoot Contessa that’s totally different but good. Some of the fam likes it one way, some the other.
    So every holiday it’s a holiday which way we’ll have it. I refuse to make both at the same time. (I know, I’

    • Post your other one on your blog someday. I’d like to give it a try. The more recipes I make, the more I like!

      So without sugar, your mom’s would be a little tangier, right? Though it would still get some sweetness from the relish.

  2. I’m lazy.)

    • Right. I’ve seen some of the menus you’ve fixed for your family. “Lazy” doesn’t exist in the same universe!


Leave a Reply

Categories

