Posted by: literallydelicious | February 14, 2011

Caramelized Acorn Squash

I grew up in a serious meat-and-potatoes family. As far as I can recall, I had Chinese only once before meeting my husband (visiting friends in California when I was 16), and the closest we got to any other ethnic food was spaghetti and meatballs. Heck, I didn’t even have a McDonald’s burger until I was in college.

But Bob has always liked acorn squash, and I’ve tried fixing it a few times for him over the years. It and butternut are probably the two most dangerous veggies for me to fix, because I’m lethal with a knife . . . to myself, no one else. (I once partially amputated my fingertip with a mandolin.)

But, like I said, he likes acorn squash, and I like anything maple, so this recipe seemed a perfect one to try. Man, is it delicious! Just a tip: be sure to cut the squash into pretty much equal size pieces, so they’re all done at once, and to make them reasonably sized so they don’t take forever to cook.

**********

CARAMELIZED ACORN SQUASH

2 acorn squash

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 teaspoons sugar

3/4 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

5 tablespoons maple syrup

4 tablespoons butter

sprinkle of cayenne

1. Heat oven to 475 degrees. Cut squash in half, remove the seeds, and cut each half into wedges.

2. Toss wedges in a plastic bag with oil, sugar, salt and pepper until well coated. Arrange on parchment paper on a large rimmed baking sheet, and bake until squash is golden brown, about 25 minutes.

3. Bring syrup to boil in a small sauce pan over medium-high heat, then lower to medium-low. Simmer 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in butter and cayenne. Whisk until smooth, then cover.

4. When squash is deep golden, flip the wedges and brush with glaze. Return to oven until squash is tender and deep golden all over, about another 15 minutes. Brush with remaining glaze and serve. 

Responses

  1. Another new recipe for me to try!!
    Looks delicious!

    • I was really surprised by how good it was. And it is pretty, isn’t it?

  2. Doesn’t everyone who owns a mandolin have to cut off at least one fingertip? It’s like a law of nature. Right? LOL.
    You made the squash sound good. Thanks!

    • Either a law of nature, or the mandolin was cursed by the person who gave it to me. 🙂

      I’m voting for a curse.


Leave a Reply

Categories

