Posted by: literallydelicious | February 10, 2011

Homemade Tomato Soup

When I was in the third grade or so, Mom kept me home from school with a bad cold or the flu — something that made me sniffly and stuffy. For lunch, she gave me a sandwich and a bowl of Campbell’s tomato soup. I took one bite and puked my guts out. I doubt it was the soup, but I haven’t been able to stand the sight or smell of Campbell’s tomato soup since then. Of course, for years, Bob lived on the stuff. I wouldn’t even wash the dishes when he was done.

A few weeks ago, I saw a recipe for tomato soup in Cook’s Country and decided I’d give it a shot. After all, lots of people love it, right? And maybe, just maybe, my perception has been skewed by the puking all these years.

It is really good. In fact, I’ve made it twice in a couple weeks. The first time I halved the ingredients, but Sunday I did the full batch so I could have leftovers. For me, wanting leftovers is the sign of a great recipe.

**********

HOMEMADE TOMATO SOUP

4 14-ounce cans diced tomatoes

1/2 to 3/4 cup chicken broth

3 tablespoons butter

1 onion, diced

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon brown sugar

2 tablespoons tomato paste

2 tablespoons flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup heavy cream

1. Set a colander over a bowl and drain tomatoes, pressing to release the juices. Pour the juice into a large measuring cup, then add enough broth to make 4 cups.

2. Melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion and cook until softened.

3. Add 2/3 of the drained tomatoes, bay leaf and brown sugar. Cook, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.

4. Add tomato paste and flour to tomatoes and cook, stirring frequently, for 1-2 minutes. Stir in the juice/broth mixture, the rest of the tomatoes, baking soda and a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer. Cook until slightly thickened, then remove from heat.

5. Discard the bay leaf. Puree the soup in batches in a food processor, then return to pot. Stir in cream and season with salt and pepper before serving.

Responses

  1. Marilyn–
    This is a reciped I’ve been waiting for!
    Can’t wait to try it!
    Thanks!

  2. I didn’t want tomato soup when iwas sick; I wanted cream of mushroom soup. But I do think tomato soup & grilled cheese sandwiches make a mighty fine supper.

    • I didn’t want it, either, Jackie. 🙂 I preferred chicken and noodle, but we must have been out of that.

      I have a recipe for mushroom soup. I’ll have to dig it out and make it again; it’s been too long.

  3. But my daddy loves tomato soup. I’ll have to make this for him and see how it stacks up. Thanks, M.

    • Let me know if he likes it. This summer I want to try it with fresh tomatoes, but the recipe was deliberately designed around canned so it could be made year-round.

      That is, if any fresh tomatoes manage to escape getting sliced and salted and eaten right away. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

