Posted by: literallydelicious | February 7, 2011

Everything Fritatta

We’re snowed in here in Oklahoma, and what to eat has been my choices since I do most of the cooking. My husband’s a huge help — he likes chopping and grating and does a wonderful job.

Today, since I have an abundance of eggs and potatoes, I thought I’d made my first-ever fritatta. I googled and found several recipes, but didn’t have the right ingredients for any of them. So I tossed my own stuff in and hoped for the best.

No picture this time . . . by the time I remembered, it was gone!

And, yeah, this is one of those no-measurements sort of recipe. How many eggs you put in depends of how much everything else; that also determines what size dish you use and how long you bake it. Anyway, here goes:

**********

EVERYTHING FRITATTA

eggs

diced onion

diced red peppers

diced garlic

red potatoes, microwaved until barely tender, cooled, then cubed

diced or sliced olives

diced Canadian bacon and pepperoni or ham

sliced mushrooms (if canned, drained)

salt and pepper to taste

shredded cheddar

sliced green onions

salsa, optional

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine all ingredients except cheddar and green onions and salsa. Pour into a 2-quart or so ovenproof dish and bake until center is set, anywhere from 20 minutes up.

3. When center is set, sprinkle with cheddar and green onions. Return to oven until cheese is melted.

4. Serve with salsa if desired.

Responses

  1. Yum!!
    I love fritattas!
    We had them a lot more when chickens were roaming the range at TCR.

    • I wish I had chickens. I saw a guy the other day explaining why fresh, free-range chickens taste better than store bought, and one of the reasons was they eat EVERYTHING, including especially worms. LOL!

      But I need to find a local source for fresh eggs, ’cause I know they’re better than what’s in the store.


Leave a Reply

Categories

