Posted by: literallydelicious | January 31, 2011

Sour Cream Dipping Sauces

One of our favorite quick meals around here is boiled shrimp, eggrolls and sliced cucumbers, served with two sauces made from sour cream, one with soy sauce (left) and one with Asian hot sauce.

The soy sauce dip came from the back of a package of frozen egg rolls 20-some years ago. The other developed from my attempt to duplicate the spicy sauce used at Fuji, our favorite sushi restaurant. It’s creamy, orangish and spicy, so I mixed Sriracha sauce with sour cream. It was very good, but nowhere near the same. When I asked the chef one night, I found out I got the Sriracha right, but they used mayonnaise for the creamy sauce. I’m not a big mayo fan (I love Miracle Whip), so I kept making it my way.

Now I just need to figure out the proportions for the brown-sugar-pepper-vinegar sauce they serve at Lanna Thai!

**********

SOY SOUR CREAM SAUCE

sour cream (I love Daisy Lite way more than the full-fat stuff)

soy sauce to taste

1. Stir together and serve.

**********

SPICY SOUR CREAM SAUCE

sour cream

Asian hot sauce to taste

1. Stir together and serve.

1.

Responses

  1. Would you believe Gary and I have started enjoying sushi? He’s more daring than I am and tried eel and wasabi (sp?) first. LOL
    When you boil shrimp, do you leave the shells on then peel or vice versa? I’ve never boiled shrimp, but I’ve grilled, roasted and sauted it.
    With the Asian hot sauce dip, when the guy told you about the mayo, did he give you porportions? (I like mayo and MW)

    • I’m not surprised. Most people I know, once they try a few sushi dishes, find something to like. I don’t do well with more than a dot of wasabi, but I love eel. Fuji makes an eel sauce that’s incredible.

      I leave the shells on while they boil (and toss in a few tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning unless they’re for a specific recipe). According to better Southern cooks than me, the shells add a bit of extra shrimpy flavor. Then cool them in ice water, drain well and eat.

      No proportions. I think they make their sauces like me — add till it looks the right color. Sometimes it’s just spicy, and sometimes it’s got the bite of a pitbull. Also, it seems the longer it sits, the spicier it gets. Always start out on the light side with Sriracha — a lesson I have learned painfully. 😉

  2. Sounds delicious and oh-so-simple!
    Thanks!

  3. These sound awesome. Can’t wait to try them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

