Posted by: literallydelicious | January 20, 2011

Pecan Pie

I’ve never been much of a pie person, either baking or eating them, but when the Navy sent us back to South Carolina years ago and we weren’t able to go home for Thanksgiving, I baked a pecan pie at our son’s request. He watched me start to make the custard, then protested. He’d thought a pecan pie was a crust filled with pecans. He didn’t want no stinkin’ custard in it. (Okay, I admit, he was only six or seven at the time.)

This is Dear Abby’s recipe. My mom used it for years, and I found her copy after she died last year. I’ve made it twice this year — once for Thanksgiving, once because I had fresh pecans I wanted to use up. Bet you didn’t know this: it taste just as good, to us at least, without the 1/3 cup butter as it does with. Yep, I melted the butter in the microwave, forgot about it and made the pie without it. We didn’t even notice until we found the dish of congealed butter in the microwave the next day.

**********

DEAR ABBY’S PECAN PIE

1 9″ pie crust

1 cup light Karo

1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

3 eggs, lightly beaten

1/3 cup melted butter

1/3 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 – 1 1/2 cups pecan halve (or chopped pecans)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine Karo, brown sugar, eggs, butter, salt and vanilla. Mix well.

3. Pour into unaked pie crust and sprinkle with pecans.

4. Bake 40-50 minutes until the center is set. A toothpick inserted near the center will come out clean. Cover the crust edges with foil if they brown too quickly.

5. Let cool to finish setting up before serving.

Responses

  1. Pecan is my ultimate favorite pie–ranks right up there with cheesecake.
    Glad to know about the butter!
    I really like the background of your recipes.

    • Thanks, Meg! You know me . . . I like to talk. 😉

      You have a good cheescake recipe you want to share? (Hint, hint.)

  2. Yu-um! Love pecan pie, but I can’t make crust if my life depended on it!

    • Me, either, Margaret. That was one of Mom’s retirement goals: learn to make the perfect pie crust. I don’t actually like pie crust — just the filling. Anyway, I use refrigerated crusts, usually Pillsbury. They’re pretty good and so darn convenient.

  3. My Dad loves pecan pie. When he was diagnosed with high blood pressure and high cholesterol, she began fiddling with her recipe trying to save his arteries. She made it with Egg Beaters instead of real eggs… and the pecans sink. Terrible to look at, but he still ate it. spw

    • If it tastes good, that’s all that matters, right?

      Though, personally, I think I’d rather have a slice of the real stuff rarely than the alternative. That’s how I feel about cheese: if I can’t have the full-fat, full-flavor, I don’t want any.

      I’ll have to look in my recipes and see if I can find a healthier pecan pie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

