Posted by: literallydelicious | January 3, 2011

Spicy Cucumber Salad

I love cucumbers just about any way you can think to fix them. I tried growing them last summer, but I didn’t know they required ridiculous amounts of water, so they shriveled on the vine pretty quickly. Next year, I’m going to try again, because, truly, I can eat them by the pound.

This dish is similar to one we used to get at our favorite sushi restaurant in Jacksonville, North Carolina, Hakata Japanese Steakhouse. The owner, Hama San, gave little dishes of this to his regulars (along with little dishes of things like, oh, fried shrimp heads!). We love it, and it’s so quick and easy to make, and simple to tweak to your own tastes.

**********

SPICY CUCUMBER SALAD

2 large cucumbers

1 cup seasoned rice vinegar

crushed red pepper flakes

1. Peel the cucumbers, then use the peeler to cut into long, thin strips. Let rest on a paper towel while mixing the sauce.

2. Mix vinegar and red pepper flakes to taste. Pour over cucumbers; cover and chill for 15-20 minutes.


Responses

  1. That sounds so good. I’m going to try it just as soon as I find that vinegar. I used to have a bottle, but if I still do, it’s in the very back of the pantry. *sigh* Why aren’t pantries made handier? I hate digging.

    • I want a butler’s pantry filled with those roll-out shelves that display EVERYTHING on each shelf. They’re only two cans wide, and nothing can go missing that way.

      Let me know what you think of it!

  2. This sounds delicious! I love cucumbers though lately they haven’t been kind to me. I’ll have to try this if I can find the burpless cucumbers.

    • I never eaten the burpless kind, but they’d be great, too, especially if they’re kinder to you! Hope you like it!


Leave a comment

Categories