Posted by: literallydelicious | December 30, 2010

Rum Cake

I don’t often get asked to take regular dishes to family get-togethers. They love my jambalaya and pasta fajiole and baby-back ribs, but mostly they like my desserts. Usually, I do bread pudding; it’s everyone’s favorite (but mine!). They like my lemon cream cake, too, very similar, I’ve been told, to Olive Garden’s.

But Christmas doesn’t seem Christmas without a rum cake. My aunt Linda used to make one, but we celebrate with our individual families, so that does me no good, so I have to make my own.

I’ll be the first to admit that presentation is not my strong suit. I’m pretty much of the belief that if it tastes good, people will forgive you how it looks. But this one didn’t turn out too bad looking.

Also, a time or two ago baking this, I bought a sugar-free cake mix by mistake. It still tasted great and saved tons of calories that could then be replaced by the rum, sugar, butter and chocolate. 😉 Anyway, that’s why this is classified as lower calorie. It’s got less calories than one made with a regular cake mix, but it’s no diet item.

**********

RUM CAKE WITH BACARDI SAUCE AND CHOCOLATE GLAZE

Cake:

1 package Pillsbury Moist Supreme Sugar-Free Classic Yellow Cake mix

1 4-ounce package instant vanilla pudding mix

4 eggs

1/2 cup each cold water, rum and vegetable oil

Bacardi sauce:

1 stick butter

1/4 cup water

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup Bacardi rum

Glaze:

4 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

butter as needed

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10″ tube or Bundt pan. (I usually spray it with Pam, then coat it with sugar instead of flour.)

2. Mix the cake mix, pudding mix, eggs, water, rum and oil and beat until smooth. Pour into pan and bake 45-55 minutes, or until a wooden skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean.

3. Cook cake in the pan for 25 minutes, then invert on a serving plate. If the cake has risen too much, cut off the excess to make a level bottom.

4. In a medium sauce pan, add butter, water, sugar and rum. Cook over medium heat until the butter is melted and sugar dissolved.

5. When the cake is cooled, prick holes in the top. (I tried a toothpick but like the size holes from my meat thermometer better.) Drizzle glaze over the cake slowly. (I take my time with this, because I like for the cake to absorb tons of the sauce. I also let it dribble around the base of the cake.) 

6. In a small pan, melt chocolate with enough butter to make a thin glaze. Drizzle over the cake; let set an hour or so, then serve.

* Can also make mini-Bundts: fill the cups about half full and bake 25 minutes or so. Cool in pan 10 minutes.

Responses

  1. Is that the kind of mini-bundt cake you made us that time? It was delicious!

    • It is the same. I made some minis the week before Christmas and traded the kiddo one for the grandkiddo one day. Son looked at the package and said, “Just one?? You just brought me one??”

      The minis are quicker, but then, the pan’s harder to clean. 😉

  2. Your presentation is great! Looks delicious–and I know it is.

    • Thanks, Meg! I poured a bit of rum sauce into the center well of the cake so the interior could absorb it — just an ounce or so. When my niece’s husband bit into it, he said it was like getting a shot of rum along with the cake. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

