Posted by: literallydelicious | December 27, 2010

Slow-Cooker Brisket

My husband loves corned brisket. Me, not so much. (Read: not at all.) I can’t remember how old I was when I realized that brisket could be prepared in other ways — yeah, I was slow to catch on. Now I use this recipe for a busy-day or cold-weather meal; it’s tangy and sweet and filling. (And my dogs love the gravy ladled onto their food. Okay, that’s not a ringing endorsement. They’d love mayo slathered on. But they really love this, and so do we.)

**********

SLOW-COOKER BRISKET

1 large onion, sliced

1 beef brisket, 2-3 pounds

pepper and salt (McCormick’s Montreal Steak Seasoning or Weber’s Six-Pepper Fusion are incredibly good in place of the individual spices)

1 4.5 ounce can of sliced mushrooms, drained

3/4 cup beef broth

1/2 cup chili sauce

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 tablespoons minced garlic (if you’re not a garlic fiend, you might want to use less)

1-2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/4 cup cold water

1. Place onion in a 5-quart slow cooker. Rub brisket with seasoning and place over onion. Top with mushrooms.

2. Mix broth, chili sauce, brown sugar and garlic and pour over meat. Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours until meat is tender.

3. Remove meat and keep warm. Pour juices into a saucepan. Mix cornstarch and water; stir into juices. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until thickened.

Responses

  1. Yum, Marilyn!!!
    I’ll have to try that!

  2. It’s nice to come home to when you’ve had a busy day. If you want, you can even make the gravy in the slow cooker: remove the meat and veggies and keep warm in a low oven; mix the cornstarch and water; stir into the juices; cover and cook on low about 30 minutes. Once I remove the tender beef, though, I have no patience for slow-cooked gravy, so I finish on the stovetop.

  3. I’m going to TRY this one. Yumm…

    Speaking of things to try… this is for you: http://fxcuisine.com/Default.asp?language=2&Display=85&resolution=high&page=1

    for some reason, the IMBB? idea made me think of you. I bet you’d do great contributing a recipe… spw

    • Cool site, Sandee!! I just about lost myself. I’m going to try some of his recipes — the 5-hour roasted eggs sound really interesting.

      But I didn’t find the IMBB idea. Did I overlook it?

      Won’t it be wonderful cooking in your own kitchen again soon??


Leave a Reply

Categories

