Posted by: literallydelicious | July 20, 2010

Potato Gnocchi

The first time I had gnocchi was at Roseanna’s in Krebs, Oklahoma. The town is home to four or five of the best Italian restaurants in the state (and not a whole lot of anything else, besides the wonderful Lovera’s Grocery). I had to ask the waitress how to pronounce the name (knee-OH-kee). I didn’t have any trouble at all enjoying it, though.

Not long after that first dining experience, I located some recipes and, as I usually do, took from each one to come up with what sounded best. I followed all the steps, working between the hardrock maple island top and the boiling water on the stove top. I had my back turned from the island a moment too long, and our coonhound, Spencer, ate about a third of the dough there. Yep, my dogs have spoiled more than a few dishes, but I love ’em anyway.

**********

POTATO GNOCCHI

4 medium potatoes, peeled and quartered

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

1 3/4 cup to 2 cups all-purpose flour

3 quarts water

red sauce

**********

1. Cook potatoes until tender. Drain and mash.

2. Place potatoes in a large mixing bowl. Stir in egg and salt. Gradully beat in flour until blended. Dough will be firm and elastic.

3. Turn onto a lightly floured surface; knead5-10 times. Separate into pieces and roll into 1/2″ wide ropes. Cut ropes into 1″ pieces and press down with a floured fork (or shape with fingers).

4. Bring water to a boil in a large pan. Add gnocchi in small batches; cook until dumplings float to the top and are cooked through, 8-10 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon.

5. Serve with sauce. I like spaghetti sauce and fresh-grated Parm with mine.

Leave a Reply

Categories

