Posted by: literallydelicious | July 4, 2010

Jicama Slaw

Not long ago, we made the trek to Oklahoma City to take care of some business and had lunch at a Mexican place downtown that I picked off the Oklahoma tourism site because I liked its name: Iguana Mexican Grill. I was impressed from the first bite of salsa. I loved it. I pretty much like most salsa, but this was the best. I ate so much that I hardly had room for my meal (which was pretty darn good, too).

One of the side dishes offered was jicama slaw. I’ve eaten Mexican and TexMex for years, but never had jicama until the other day. I came home and promptly bought some jicama, then looked up recipes and combined the best of them. It was great with grilled burgers for our 4th lunch.

**********

JICAMA SLAW

1 jicama (I’m not sure what to add — is it a root? a bulb? a hunk?)

1 small red pepper

matchstick carrots

2 tablespoons lime

cumin, poppy seeds, salt and pepper to taste

3 tablespoons honey

1/4 cup, more or less, olive oil

fresh cilantro, chopped

1. Peel and thinly slice jicama. Cut into matchsticks. Place in a bowl.

2. Seed and thinly slice red pepper; add with carrots to jicama.

3. In a small bowl, mix remaining ingredients. Pour over veggies and stir well. Let set thirty minutes. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

Responses

  1. YUM!! I just recently tried Jicama. I had seen it prepared on TOP CHEF.

    I’ve eaten at The Iguana!! There is one in Austin.
    Delicious!

    IF I go to town today, I’m buying some Jicama and making this!

    • I really liked the combination of lime juice and honey in the dressing. I’ve used lemon and honey in several recipes, but this was a first for me.

      One thing I learned . . . jicama peels better if you go around instead of top to bottom. And it’s great to snack on raw. Nice crunch.

      I loved Iguana! (Want one of those T-shirts.) Wish they’d open one in Tulsa.


Leave a Reply

Categories

