Posted by: literallydelicious | May 28, 2010

Low-Fat Banana Bread

My son’s been trying to get me to make this for a while, but I don’t have any rotten bananas and keep forgetting to buy some, so he asked me to at least post it here.

I love full-fat banana bread. I really love it with Philadelphia Cream Cheese. I’ve never baked any kind but this, though. Someone gave me the recipe years ago, and it’s just been good enough that I haven’t gone looking for a different recipe.

Okay, kiddo, buy yellow bananas and stick ’em in a corner until the skin turns really dark. You know, the way your grandmother loved ’em best. Just remember, low-fat doesn’t mean low-calorie.

**********

LOW-FAT BANANA BREAD

8 ounces non-fat plain yogurt

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon lemon juice

4 egg whites

2 cups flour

1/2 cup quick-cooking oats

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups pureed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly coat 2 9″ loaf pans with Pam.

2. In a large bowl, beat yogurt and sugars until sugars have dissolved. Add spices, salt, vanilla, lemon juice and egg whites.

3. Combine flour, oats, baking powder and baking soda. Add to the yogurt mixture,alternating with banana puree. Don’t overbeat or bread will be tough.

4. Pour into loaf pans and bake 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool in pans for 20 minutes, then remove and cool completely on a rack.

Responses

  1. This looks yummy!!
    I’ll have to try it.
    And I always have bananas! Don won’t eat them past a certain color…so I stick them in the freezer. When needed, just thawe and slide out!

    • Do you freeze them in the peel? Wrap ’em in anything?

      I don’t eat bananas often — love the flavor, hate that chewed-up texture. Mom loved them and ate one every day with breakfast for YEARS. She liked them really, really ripe — to the point that when the kiddo was young, he asked me once why she ate rotten bananas.

  2. I’m with Don. I love bananas, but only up to a certain “ripeness”. Once they’re brown, they’re out of my house. I even make banana with yellow bananas.

    • When they get softer . . . eww. If I’m going to eat them, they have to be firm.

      Unless they’ve been browned in butter and brown sugar. Yumm.


Leave a Reply

Categories

