Posted by: literallydelicious | May 20, 2010

Crispy Potato Cubes

I was raised in a meat-and-potatoes family, and I still think there’s not much better than a potato. Oddly enough, I don’t like mashed potatoes that much, but baked, boiled with butter and parsley, boiled with Old Bay seasoning, roasted a dozen different ways, mashed into salad, gnocchi . . . I don’t think there’s a bad way to make potatoes.

I came across this recipe in a magazine, not sure that the extra step with the flour would make a big enough difference to be worth doing. Was it ever! I love these potatoes!

**********

CRISPY POTATO CUBES

1/3 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon each dried thyme and marjoram

salt and pepper to taste

5 medium potatoes, peeled and cut into 1″ cubes (I’ve used red and Yukon gold and loved both)

1/4 cup melted butter

1 garlic clove, minced

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Combine flour, thyme, marjoram, salt and pepper in a large resealable plastic bag. Add potatoes, seal bag and shake to coat.

3. Pour butter in a jelly roll pan lined with nonstick aluminum foil.  Sprinkle with garlic, then add potatoes. Cover and bake for 20 minutes.

4. Uncover and stir well. Bake until potatoes are tender, 15-20 minutes.

Responses

  1. These sound good! You know, when I was a kid, my mom rarely served potatoes. My dad had always had a weight problem, so to help him, she usually served only meat and two veggies or a salad and a veggie. She also didn’t put bread on the table. I was 16 before I realized potatoes wasn’t a luxury item. 🙂

    When I went off to college, I couldn’t get enough potatoes. And my weight gain proves it.

    • LOL, Jackie! We had them a LOT, partly because we all liked them, but also because they were cheap. My mom’s fried potatoes for breakfast . . . yumm! I gladly cut back on meat consumption in order to eat more taters!


Leave a Reply

Categories

