Posted by: literallydelicious | May 18, 2010

Balsamic Roasted Red Potatoes

I love roasted potatoes, and I love balsamic. I saw a travel show a few years ago featuring a balsamic tour of Italy. Seriously, for a week, these people were focused seriously on balsamic vinegar, and I seriously wanted to be there with them.

My son lived in Italy for the better part of six years. When he first arrived, he bought a couple of bottles of balsamic to send me. He set them aside, got settled, started working and dating and bought a Ducati racing bike, and forgot all about the vinegar. Three years later, he brought them with him on a visit home, and oh. My. Gosh. They were incredible.

So, of course, when I came across a recipe combining both roasted potatoes and balsamic, I had to try it. Yumm.

**********

BALSAMIC ROASTED RED POTATOES

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 pounds small red potatoes (if they’re small enough, leave whole; otherwise, chunk ’em)

1 tablespoon chopped green onion

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1 teaspoon each dried thyme and crushed rosemary

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

1. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add potatoes, onions and garlic; toss to combine. Stie in thyme, rosemary and nutmeg. Cook and stir until potatoes are hot, about 5 minutes.

2. Transfer to a jelly-roll pan wrapped with nonstick aluminum foil. Bake at 400 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until potatoes are almost tender.

3. Combine vinegar, salt and pepper; toss with potatoes to coat. Bake 5-8 minutes more, until potatoes are tender.

Responses

  1. Hmmm, have to admit, I’m not much a fan of balsamic vinegar. Waaay too strong for me.

    • Oh, I love it! I have a recipe for balsamic-drizzled strawberries that I’m anxious to try.

      My oldest sister hates all vinegars — won’t eat pickles, salad dressings, anything that has vinegar in it. I don’t know how she survives. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

