Posted by: literallydelicious | April 4, 2010

Tastes Like Chicken

Those were common words in our house when I was growing up. Anything Mom wanted us to eat that we might balk at tasted like chicken, according to her. Squirrel, rabbit, turtle — you name it. About the only things she didn’t try it on were liver and calves’ brains. We may have been gullible, but we knew nothing intended to be eaten looked, smelled or felt like liver. That stuff was just nasty. Bob likes it (no surprise there, huh?), but the only time I’ve ever cooked it was when our coonhound, Spencer, was undergoing chemotherapy for cancer. I fixed it for him every day, but that was it.

As for calves’ brains . . . I think Mom cooking them for Daddy was along the lines of me fixing liver for Spencer: even though she found it disgusting, she loved him enough to do it. I ate them a time or two myself. I was the youngest, the tomboy, and liked to do what he did (which explains why I learned to shoot a rifle when I was six or eight and to change a car tire before I was ten). Funny thing, I don’t remember how they tasted. Forgetfulness or mercy?

By the way, I’ve tried liver. I don’t dismiss anything without a fair shot — unless it’s still wiggling on my plate. In fact, I didn’t understand the true nastiness of liver until I actually ate some. Ugh.

We tried the same chicken line on our son. “Here, have some alligator/octopus/cod/oysters/whatever. It tastes like chicken.” He wasn’t at all gullible. In fact, he’s one of the pickiest eaters I know. Not from lack of our trying to expose him to everything.

Our two-year-old grandson is starting out adventurous in his eating habits. Yeah, he has a corn dog virtually every day, but whenever we go out, he always wants to try whatever I’m having. I’m usually pretty enthusiastic about sharing with him (we won’t discuss the “backwash” when I share my drink with him). I tell him what the food is and ask him if it’s yummers. One day he tried something, and his little face squinched up. “Not yummers, Grandma,” he said, looking disappointed.

I’m not so enthusiastic about sharing my Haagen Dazs ice cream bars with him. I buy the chocolate- and nut-covered ones — primarily because I love the chocolate and nuts. When I gave him one, he sat down and very carefully peeled off the nut-crusted chocolate and dropped it to the floor before eating the ice cream.

Maybe I should tell him it tastes like chicken.

Responses

  1. I have an 11 year old niece who loves fried chicken strips and fried shrimp and other fried foods. She peels off the crunchy coating (the good part) and eats the inside.
    Go figure.

    • LOL. When the kids get to choose where to go for Saturday lunch, we often wind up at Charlie’s Chicken, where I buy fried chicken, peel off the skin and eat it, then take the rest home for Bob or the puppers. Love that crunchy skin!

  2. Anytime my mom (who loved to experiment with new recipes) would cook chicken differently, my dad would always say “Very good! It tastes just like chicken.” He got more dagger stares over that comment.
    As for crust, no one beats Church’s for me. Except it doesn’t re-heat worth a darn.

    • LOL at your dad! That’s a good one.

      I like Church’s crust, too. Reheat? You mean you’re supposed to have a leftover to take home and reheat? I eat it all right there. 😉

  3. LOL on Cam peeling off the chocolate. You can have the ice cream–I’ll take the chocolate.

    Kids and their tastes–Amy who ATE nothing but cereal is now into sushi, eel…she’s going for Vietnamese soon to try Pha–pho?

    • I’m with you, Meg. Chocolate beats ice cream any day.

      I love Vietnamese. Mekong Delta in Tulsa makes the best soups. I bet she’ll love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

