Posted by: literallydelicious | April 3, 2010

Pork and Pineapple Stir-Fry

Pork and Pineapple Stirfry

 You’ve got to love pork loin as a cook. We roast it with baby red potatoes and sweet red onions; I steam it, shred it and add Head Country BBQ sauce; I have at least five or six stir-fry recipes using it. It’s awfully versatile and awfully good. We eat it probably five or six times a month. This is one of Bob’s favorites.

The original recipe didn’t call for fish sauce, but that’s another of Bob’s favorites. When we go to Mekong Delta in Tulsa for Vietnamese, they always bring him a dish of nuoc mam — the real stuff, not toned down for American palates. I like fish sauce in small amounts. Very small amounts. One day at Mekong, he urged me to try the nuoc mam, so, never one to back away from a challenge, I drenched a piece of chicken in the stuff and popped it in my mouth. He sat there, staring, shaking his head.

“You’re only supposed to dip it a little bit,” he said as I sputtered, coughed and prayed for my taste buds to die on the spot.

Not one to learn a lesson easily, not long ago I was making another pork stir-fry. I had all the ingredients lined up on the counter, adding each one as I scanned the recipe. I reached for the chili oil, poured in about two tablespoons, then added another gulp for good measure. Immediately, this stench rose from the pan, searing my nostrils and my eyeballs. Through tears I squinted at the bottle in my hand. Oops. I’d grabbed the fish sauce by mistake. The recipe called for 1 teaspoon. I’d put in about nine. {{Shudder}}

Bob loved it. I survived it.

**********

PORK AND PINEAPPLE STIR-FRY

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 pound pork tenderloin, cut into cubes

1 bag matchstick carrots

1 bag broccoli cole slaw mix

2/3 cup bottled sweet-and-sour stir-fry sauce

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon Asian chili paste

a dash of fish sauce (optional)

1 16-ounce can pineapple chunks, drained

1 cup crispy chow-mein noodles

1. In a nonstick skillet, heat two tablespoons of oil. Add pork; cook 4-5 minutes, stirring often. Remove to plate; keep warm.

2. Add remaining tablespoon of oil to skillet; add carrots and cole slaw mix; cook, stirring often, about 8 minutes.

3. Add stir-fry sauce, soy sauce, chili paste and fish sauce. Stir in pineapple, then return pork to skillet. Heat through.

4. Top with chow-mein noodles and serve over rice if desired.

Responses

  1. What is sweet-and-sour stir fry sauce? Can you buy it in the stores? I make a sweet-and-sour sauce using pineapple juice, but I’ve never heard of that.
    Educate me. The rest of this sounds wonderful. Except maybe the fish sauce. LOL.

    • It’s in the Asian foods section at our WalMart. I don’t know if there’s actually a lot of difference between it and regular sweet-and-sour sauce, other than it’s usually not very sweet and it’s thinner. I’m not home now, but I’ll check the ingredients list later and compare.

      Fish sauce is funny stuff. It smells horrible, tastes horrible right out of the bottle, but a teaspoon added to a dish gives it a nice flavor that’s not at all horrible.

      Just don’t find out too much about how it’s made before you try it. 😉

  2. Now this is a recipe I can get my chopsticks around! I love stir-fry, but only know one recipe. Can’t wait to try this, but can’t see myself using fish sauce. Yuck!

    • Only one recipe?? We don’t even use recipes a lot of the time — just toss in whatever’s left in the fridge at the end of the week, then make a quick sauce or grab a bottled one.

      You can skip the fish sauce. Be sure you get the chow-mein noodles, though. The hot cooked texure of the food with the crispy room-temp noodles is wonderful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

