Posted by: literallydelicious | April 1, 2010

Scallops with Honey and Walnuts

My husband loves seafood. Honestly, I can’t think of anything that lives in the sea that he wouldn’t eat, raw or cooked. I’m right there with him on the shrimp, crab, clams, mussels, lobsters, but I’m not much on fish. (Though we had some amazing catfish last week.) To make up for not cooking fish beyond the occasional grilled tuna, I’ve collected a lot of seafood recipes.

Scallops can be really hard to cook just right. Not long enough and they’re yucky in the middle. Too long and they’re chewier than octopus. I usually check constantly to increase my odds of hitting the jackpot.

**********

SCALLOPS WITH HONEY AND WALNUTS

3 tablespoons teriyaki sauce

2 tablespoons ketchup

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons white vinegar

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 each red and green bell peppers, sliced

1 pound sea scallops

1/2 teaspoon 5-spice powder

1/4 cup glazed walnuts, chopped

1. Combine the first five ingredients. Stir and set aside.

2. Heat oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet. Add peppers and cook until softened. Remove from pan.

3. Add scallops to pan; sprinkle with 5-spice powder. Cook over medium-high heat, turning once, just until cooked through. Watch closely.

4. Return peppers to pan, add teriyaki mixture and cook, stirring, until thickened. Top with walnuts.

Responses

  1. To be honest, if it ain’t fried, I’m not much for seafood. I did have some GREAT scallops at Bodean’s once. Had some kind of tomatoe sauce. Yummm!

    • Quoting some Deep-South friends: “If it ain’t fried, it ain’t done.” And my thoughts are, why ruin perfectly good seafood with frying? LOL.

      I’d love to try a scallop ceviche sometime, mostly out of curiosity. No heat required: the scallops are cooked by the chemical reaction of the other ingredients. Doesn’t that sound cool?

  2. I remember a scene in HAWAII by Michener discribing a character “cooking” fish with coconut milk in a coconut shell set in the sun. Now that really sounded interesting. I might experiment with that idea.

    • Let me know how that goes. 😉

      In the sun, huh? Sounds cool, but the second thought that comes to my mind is “bacteria.” That’s why I don’t know if I could ever eat creme fraiche. There’s just something inside me that cringes at the thought of eating cream & buttermilk that’s sat out on the counter for 24-36 hours. I know, the good bacteria kill the bad ones, but still . . . {{shudder}}

  3. No, the fish was cooked with coconut milk, papaya, and pineapple. The acid from the pineapple would change the pH so bacteria couldn’t grow. And the Hawaiian sun can get hot enough that it wouldn’t take too long to cook.

    • Cool. Don’t you ever wonder who was the first person to say, “I think I’ll put my fish out in the sun with coconut milk and fruit and see if it’ll cook that way”?

      And who was their taste tester?? 😉

  4. There are a LOT of foods I wonder how that first cook chose to prepare. Poi, for instance. It comes from the taro root which is poisonous to humans if not prepared correctly. Who figured out how to do the first safe batch??? And if someone died from the first batch, why did anyone keep trying to make it work?

    • Absolutely! I saw some comic once talking about the first people to eat certain foods. He was pretty sure it was a man who first cracked open an oyster shell and tossed its raw contents down his throat. He was also pretty sure it was the result of some buddies sitting around going, “Hey, do you know if you eat that raw, it’ll make you better at sex?” LOL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

