Posted by: literallydelicious | March 18, 2010

Italian Sausage, Bean and Pasta Soup

One night my husband and I were at our favorite sushi place, Fuji, out at 71st and Memorial in Tulsa, and I picked up one of those free local magazines that big cities put out to read while we waited. I was flipping through the pages when I came to some recipes, and this was one of them.

Usually I find a recipe, stick it in a box or folder and at some later point (weeks, months, years), I decide to try it. This one, I bought the ingredients and made it the very next day. I’m not an Italian sausage fan, but I love this soup. I later took it to a lunch involving the day job, and it was pretty popular there, too. And I’ve been told that it freezes well for those days when you don’t have the time or energy to cook.

ITALIAN SAUSAGE, BEAN AND PASTA SOUP

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 pound bulk mild or sweet Italian sausage

1 onion, chopped

2 ribs celery, sliced

1 cup carrot matchsticks

2 tablespoons minced garlic

1 teaspoon each dried basil, oregano, parsley and rosemary

dried red pepper flakes to taste

2 teaspoons sugar

2 14-ounce cans diced tomatoes with liquid

5 cups chicken broth

2 14-0unce cans great northern beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup mini-penne or other small pasta

fresh grated Parmesan or Romano cheese

1. Heat oil in a heavy Dutch oven. Add sausage, breaking up, and brown.

2. Add onions, celery, carrots, garlic, spices, sugar, tomatoes and chicken broth. Bring to a boil, then lower heat to medium. Cook, stirring occasionally, for twenty minutes.

3. Add beans and pasta and simmer fifteen minutes. (You may need to adjust this cooking time based on the pasta you use.) Serve with cheese.

Responses

  1. I made your soup this winter this winter, and it magically disappeared. DH made it a few weeks later, but he put in too much pasta.
    Makes all the difference in the world. 😉
    Thank you for this recipe. LITERALLY DELICIOUS!

    • You’re welcome! I started to cut it in half this time, but thought why?? It’s so good as leftovers.

      You’re right about too much pasta. Much as I love it, I have to really watch it when I’m adding it to a dish like this. You’ve got to have the right balance. I’ve made hamburger stew and pasta fagiole before that wound up looking like pasta with a little meat/veggie sauce stirred in.

  2. Oh my, this sounds wonderful. I’m going to have to give it a tray. I LOVE Italian sausage. spw

    • Then it’s for you, Sandee. It’s got a great aroma when it’s cooking — I fully believe a good aroma is at least half of what it takes for good taste. I hope you like it as much as Susan’s DH and I do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

