Posted by: literallydelicious | March 16, 2010

Favorite Grilled Cheese

There’s nothing quite like a grilled cheese sandwich for comfort. Some people (I won’t point fingers) like to pair them with tomato soup, but why ruin a good sandwich?

We have several favorites when it comes to grilled cheese, depending on our moods. When I had surgery on my wrist a few years ago, I lived on sandwiches since they were easy one-hand eating (and though some would say I’m a klutz, period, I’m a real klutz with my left hand).

I’ve seen recipes calling for all kinds of cheese for the sandwiches, some that I’ve never even found for sale in my part of Oklahoma. I don’t go for tracking down foods in specialty stores (except for my coffee, which is a whole other blog). I prefer one of three types of cheese on my sandwiches: Velveeta, Swiss or fresh mozzarella. You, of course, can use whatever kind you want. That’s the beauty of fixing your own food: you do whatever you want.

These recipes are all for one sandwich.

***

BASIC GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH

2 slices sturdy sandwich bread or Texas toast

margarine

1 slice extra-thick Velveet cheese

1. Heat a skillet or griddle until hot. Butter one side each of both bread slices. Place one butter side down on the griddle, add cheese, then top with second slice of bread, butter side up.

2. Grill until golden brown; turn and repeat on other side.

***

GRILLED HAM AND CHEESE SANDWICH

2 pieces sturdy sandwich bread or Texas toast

margarine

2 slices Velveeta or Swiss cheese

thin-sliced deli ham

pickles (dill or bread-and-butter)

mayonnaise

Dijon mustard

1. Heat skillet or griddle until hot. Spread one slice of bread with margarine on one side, mayonnaise on the other.  Place butter side down on the griddle; add one slice cheese, pickles, then ham, then second slice of cheese. Spread second slice of bread with margarine on one side, Dijon mustard on the other. Top the sandwich, Dijon side down.

2. Grill until golden brown; turn and repeat on other side.

***

GRILLED CHEESE AND EGG SANDWICH

1 egg

2 slices sturdy sandwich bread or Texas toast

margarine

1 slice thick Velveeta

1. Heat a small skillet over medium-high heat. Spray with butter-flavored Pam and gently crack egg into the pan. (Use a ring if you’d like to keep the egg from spreading too much.) Cover and cook until egg is cooked through.

2. Heat a second skillet or griddle until hot. Butter one side each of both bread slices. Place one butter side down on the griddle, add egg, then cheese, and top with second slice of bread, butter side up.

3. Grill until golden brown; turn and repeat on other side.

***

ITALIAN GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH

2 thick slices Italian bread

margarine

sun-dried tomatoes, drained and patted dry

sliced mozzarella, the fresher, the better

1. Heat a skillet or griddle until hot. Butter one side each of both bread slices. Place one butter side down on the griddle and add layers of mozzarella. Top with mozzarella, then add second slice of bread, butter side up.

2. Grill until golden brown; turn and repeat on other side.

Responses

  1. Yum!
    I do love grilled cheese with tomato soup made with milk.
    Sometimes I use light Miracle Whip instead of butter.

    • I haven’t tried that. I do love Miracle Whip in all its versions. 😉

      I’ll give it a shot. Last night we had grilled Canadian bacon, egg and cheese sandwiches for supper, with fried potatoes, onions and sweet peppers on the side. Delicious!

  2. I love grilled cheese! It’s my favorite comfort food….along with tomatoe soup with Fritos. And I like rye bread with Swiss cheese grilled.

    • Well, you know how I feel about tomato soup . . . 🙂 Though I do love Fritos and chili.

      I’m not sure I’ve ever eaten rye bread. Anything with Swiss cheese has to be good, though.

  3. I haven’t had a grilled cheese in years. I find Velveeta cheese is just too salty for my taste. I don’t even enjoy that spicy cheese dip my fam makes with Velveeta.
    If I’m having grilled cheese, I’ll make it with good old American.
    😉

    • I’m a salty girl. I don’t use much when I’m cooking, but I sure do when I’m eating.

      Wow, I didn’t know anyone who didn’t like Velveeta and Rotel dip, LOL.

      That’s the great thing about grilled cheese sandwiches — let ten people make ’em and you won’t have two that are the same. It’s the most versatile dish I can think of.


Leave a Reply

Categories

