Posted by: literallydelicious | February 19, 2010

I say “toMAto”

When I was in the third grade, I got sick and had to stay home from school for the day. On occasion that meant staying home with Mom, but usually her job got me sent through the woods and across the railroad tracks to Granny Strain’s house. Granny was  a character — my dad’s mother, four foot nothin’, eighty pounds, looked an awful lot like Granny Clampett from “The Beverly Hillbillies,” and ruled everyone around her exactly the way a grandmother should.

I don’t know whether to blame Mom or Granny for the tomato soup I was served for lunch that day. Our family was big on the idea that soup will cure what ails you, and I could handle any of them except tomato. There’s just something so unappealing, so bad-smelling, so red, about canned tomato soup. I forced the soup down, and it immediately forced its way back up.

I’ve never been able to stand the smell of tomato soup since.

But getting nauseous at the smell hasn’t stopped me from collecting recipes for fresh tomato soup. I haven’t actually made any of them. I’m working my way up to that. Part of my hesitation, I think, is that I value fresh tomatoes too much to make soup from them. There’s not much on earth better than a tomato still warm off the vine and sprinkled with just a dash of salt. Or a thick slice, topped with a slab of fresh buffalo mozzarella and drizzled with balsamic and olive oil.

Hmm, maybe I’ll forget about soup and start working out a gardening plot, on paper, at least, for the tomatoes, bell peppers and cucumbers I’m going to grow this summer.

Responses

  1. I love tomato soup. Even the condensed stuff. It falls under the category of comfort food for me. With a grilled cheese sandwich, nothing is better!

    • You and Bob! He can live off the canned stuff for days at a time, while I can hardly stand to walk into the house after he’s heated it.

      One of these days, I’ll have to post some of my recipes for grilled cheese sandwiches. They’re a great comfort food around here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

